Christmas: Story of Stories

Price: $18.00

EAN: 628855003092

Rootsy, playful, thoughtful, and alive with wonder, CHRISTMAS: THE STORY OF STORIES features 9 Carolyn Arends’ originals, 3 traditional classics, and a rollicking cover of a Rich Mullins’ tune. Produced as a duo record with Carolyn’s longtime musical partner Spencer Capier, the project is an organic feast of fiddles, mandolins, guitars and bouzoukis, all centered around Arends’ fresh and poignant glimpses into the greatest story ever told. 

Recorded on the 10-year anniversary of Carolyn’s first Christmas project (CHRISTMAS: THE IRRATIONAL SEASON), the new disc once again showcases songs written each Christmas Eve for Carolyn’s home church in Coquitlam, BC. It also features several musicians Vancouverites will recognize from Pacific Theatre’s longstanding CHRISTMAS PRESENCE series–the annual music and story celebration that has inspired (and often inaugurated) many of Carolyn’s yearly songs.

CHRISTMAS: THE STORY OF STORIES was recorded at the insistence of Carolyn’s fans, many of whom backed the project via a crowd-funding campaign that exceeded its initial goal within the first 24 hours and placed the project in the Top-10 Canadian music projects ever funded on Kickstarter.

  1. It Was a Holy Night (Arends - Christmas 2007)
  2. Vacancy (Arends - Christmas 2012)
  3. Everything Changes at Christmas (Arends - Christmas 2005)
  4. Christmas Magic (Arends - Christmas 2014)
  5. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  6. The Sound (Arends - Christmas 2010)
  7. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear
  8. You Gotta Get Up (Rich Mullins)
  9. Long Way to Go (Arends - Christmas 2013)
  10. Story of Stories (Arends - Christmas 2011)
  11. What Kind of King (Arends - Christmas 2006)
  12. Dawn on Us (Arends - Christmas 2014)
  13. O Come All Ye Faithful